DUI convictions come with harsh penalties.The penalties for driving under the influence in Arizona are stringent in every case, but there are factors that can lead to longer or shorter sentences. For example, your sentence will vary depending on whether you are charged with a regular DUI, an extreme DUI, or an aggravated DUI. 

Penalties for DUI in Arizona

In Arizona, you are required to submit to a blood alcohol test under the state’s implied consent law. Refusal to take the test results will result in the suspension of your license for a year (two years if it a second refusal) and you will have to complete alcohol/drug screening in order to get your driving privilege reinstated or acquire a restricted permit.

If your test reveals a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher (0.04 in a commercial vehicle requiring a CDL), you will immediately lose your driving privileges. Additional penalties include:

  • First offense. You will be sentenced to jail for at least 10 consecutive days and will be required to pay a fine of at least $1,250. You will also be ordered to perform community service. In addition, you will have to participate in an alcohol education and/or treatment program and will be required to install a certified ignition interlock device in any vehicle you operate. This breath alcohol testing device measures your blood alcohol concentration before allowing you to start your vehicle.
  • Second or subsequent offense. You will be sentenced to jail for at least 90 days and will be required to pay a fine of at least $3,000. Your license will be revoked for a year. The community service, education, and certified ignition interlock device requirements from above also apply.

Penalties for Extreme DUI in Arizona

If your blood alcohol concentration is 0.15 or higher, you will be charged with an extreme DUI. Penalties include:

  • First offense. You will be sentenced to jail for at least 30 consecutive days and will be required to pay a fine of at least $2,500. You will also be ordered to perform community service. In addition, you will have to participate in an alcohol education and/or treatment program and will be required to install a certified ignition interlock device in any vehicle you operate.
  • Second or subsequent offense. You will be sentenced to jail for at least 120 days and will be required to pay a fine of at least $3,250. Your license will be revoked for a year. The community service, education, and certified ignition interlock device requirements from above also apply.

Penalties for Aggravated DUI in Arizona

A DUI is considered aggravated in any of the following circumstances:

  • You committed a DUI while your license was suspended, revoked, or canceled.
  • You committed a third DUI in the span of 84 months (seven years).
  • You committed a DUI while a person under the age of 15 was a passenger.
  • You committed a DUI or refused a blood alcohol content test while you were required to use an ignition interlock device.

An aggravated DUI results in a prison sentence of up to two years and your license will be revoked for a year. Other criminal penalties like those listed above also apply. 

A Defense Attorney Can Help

If you have been charged with DUI—whether regular, extreme, or aggravated—you need a defense attorney right away. Your lawyer will investigate the case, look for issues related to the arrest that may work in your favor, and look for mitigating circumstances that may lead to less harsh sentencing if you are found guilty.

Contact Our Top-Rated Team of Flagstaff Attorneys Today

At Griffen & Stevens, we have the expertise and experience to help you after a DUI arrest. Given the harsh penalties for DUI in Arizona, you want to be sure you are represented by an attorney who will listen to you, investigate the situation thoroughly, and mount a vigorous defense on your behalf. Contact us right away for a free consultation about your case.