When a person is charged with DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Arizona, they may face serious consequences that can impact their life for years to come. In Arizona, DUI is a criminal offense that carries heavy fines, possible jail time, and a criminal record that can affect job prospects and other aspects of their life.
Arizona has strict DUI laws, with penalties that increase with the number of prior offenses and the level of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of the arrest. For a first-time DUI offense, an individual may face:
• A minimum of 10 days in jail (which can be reduced to one day with completion of alcohol screening and education)
• A fine of up to $1,500
• License suspension for 90 days
• Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for a minimum of 12 months
• Completion of alcohol screening and education programs
• Possible community service
• For subsequent offenses or a BAC of .15% or higher, the penalties become more severe, with increased jail time, fines, and license suspension periods.